The Breadwinner – Review

Hi everyone!  

I have always been a curious reader, so I decided to write about one of my favourite books, called “The Breadwinner” by Deborah Ellis. When I read this book, I couldn’t stop thinking about what a hard life it would be to be a girl under the harsh rule of the Taliban.

Image credit: Google

Deborah Ellis is an award-winning author, a peace activist and an international bestseller of The Breadwinner. She is a Canadian fiction and non-fiction writer and often writes about children all over the world. Deborah was inspired to write this book after visiting refugee camps in Pakistan, where she heard about Afghan girls pretending to be boys.

The Breadwinner book is about an 11-year-old girl named Parvana, who lived under the Taliban rule in Afghanistan in 2001. After her father’s arrest, Parvana cut off her hair, dressed like a boy and became a breadwinner to help her family. She met her former classmate named Shauzia, who was also pretending to be a boy. Working together with Shauzia, she found a new world of freedom and danger. She struggled and faced many problems to find her father and reunite her family.

This book was a good read because it tells the real story of what is happening in Afghanistan. I think everyone should read this book. It gives an insight into the hard lives and sacrifices that girls in Afghanistan have had to make. The author used simple and touching language in the story. I found the book very interesting, so I even read other books in the series. There are four books in the whole series, five if you count the graphic novel.

If you read the book, then let me know what you thought of it!

Published by Aadhya

My name is Aadhya, and I am 12 years old. I love going camping, cooking, hanging out with my friends, and trying new activities! In this blog, you will find all sorts of stories about my experiences. I would love to have feedback from you. P.S. New posts every two weeks on Mondays.

7 thoughts on “The Breadwinner – Review

  1. Hi Aadhya,
    Mrs. Wilk here!! I’ve been getting email notifications of your blogs as they are released. It makes me so happy to see you writing about all of these great topics. Keep it up!!! Hope you’re having a good summer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started